Jaguar XJS Enthusiasts' Club XEC

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Jaguar XJS Enthusiasts' Club XEC

This is the first independent UK classic car club totally dedicated to the Jaguar XJS and all Jaguar XJS Enthusiasts out there around the world WWW.XJS.ORG.UK

2 posters

loss of brake pressure

davidjones66

loss of brake pressure Empty Re: loss of brake pressure

Post  davidjones66 Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:33 pm

ONCE AGAIN, THANKS JOHN. BEEN WORKING SO WILL TRY THE CHECK YOU SUGGESTED & WILL POST REPLY THIS WEEK END.
    jaybee

Post  jaybee Thu Jun 09, 2011 7:31 am

Hi Dave

I can't comment on parts availability for these cars, because I'm not a Jaguar expert. However, I've been working on cars for a living for over thirty years now, so you could say I know a thing or two.

There is a procedure for checking operation of a vacuum brake servo, as follows:

Start the engine, run for a minute or so, apply the brake pedal and switch off the engine. Pump the brake pedal to exhaust the vacuum from the servo. The pedal should go hard and rise after a few applications.

When this happens, keep the pedal applied and re-start the engine. The pedal should fall slightly as the servo vacuum is replenished. If this is the case, your servo is OK.

Whilst replacing (or even re-building) a brake master cylinder is relatively easy, rebuilding a servo is not. The two halves of the servo are difficult to separate, and usually require a special tool (purchased or home-made) to do so. A reconditioned unit is the most practical and cost-effective solution.

Regards
    John
    davidjones66

Post  davidjones66 Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:22 am